2010 Purchases and Discoveries

Posted on January 9, 2011

6


The first several days of 2011 went by so quick for me.   I had a week off from work at the end of December and as the days neared for time to return to work, I stayed up as late as I could, started the day early, and stayed in as much as possible to stretch out my days.  I know it sounds silly but being at home and doing whatever was a rarity for me that I wanted to prolong my time off from work.

I think part of the reason the last few days went by so quick was because I spent it in front of the computer drafting blog posts.  Time generally fly for me when I’m engrossed in something.  Ah well.  One good thing out of the time warp is that I am blogging.  Yay.

Below is an overview of my reading, book purchases, and author / series discoveries in 2010 versus 2009 and who and what’s going forward for 2011:

* Note that all listing are in alphabetical order by author name

• Total books purchased in:

2010 = 315

2009 = 378

Net ∆ = (63) books purchased less than in the previous year

~ I know I buy a lot of books but I can’t believe I purchased that many books in a calendar year.  Since I didn’t track purchases in 2008 and prior I didn’t check how many books I purchased in 2009 because there were no prior year data to compare.  So the numbers for 2009 to 2010 are new to me for both years.  A little over a third of this year’s purchases are ebooks, thanks to my new bff aka the Kindle.  But Kindle or not, I have to learn to curb my book buying urges!

Total books read in:

2010 = 171

2009 = 198

Net ∆ = (27) books read less than in the previous year

~ Considering how many books I purchased this year and last, my reading count is pretty sad.  I need to read as I buy instead of buying, buying, and then maybe reading.

• Total new-to-me authors discovered in:

2010 = 33

2009 = 50

Net ∆ = (17) authors discovered less than in the previous year

~ Less new author discoveries in 2010 but at least I’m still discovering some.  With the Kindle now I’m more apt to try debut and new-to-me authors because I don’t have to account for space storage in the home.  Another point for Team Kindle!

New-to-me authors definitely keeping for 2011:

  1. G.A. Aiken
  2. Ilona Andrews
  3. Kelley Armstrong
  4. Karina Bliss
  5. Jennifer Estep
  6. Lorraine Heath
  7. Kay Hooper
  8. Allyson James
  9. Lorelei James
  10. Bronwyn Jameson
  11. Elizabeth Jennings
  12. Shelly Laurenston
  13. Morgan Matson
  14. Moira Rogers
  15. Shannon Stacey
  16. Elizabeth Vaughan
  17. Rachel Vincent
  18. Eileen Wilks
  19. Tracy Wolff

And that’s more than half of the discovery list.  Sweet.

• I started reading Young Adult (YA) novels for the first time in 2010 and most of the books I read were reviewed and recommended by other bloggers and turned out to be awesome reads.  Now an auto-buy author, I can’t recommend enough the Darkest Power series by Kelley Armstrong – The Summoning, The Awakening, and The Reckoning.

Another series I enjoyed in this genre is the Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent – My Soul to Take, My Soul to Save, My Soul to Keep, and My Soul to Steal.  Now it wasn’t all YA Urban Fantasy that I read but it was close.  Thanks to Nath’s review of the book I also tried a YA Contemporary novel, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.

~ Honorable mention goes to Stephenie Meyer’s the Twilight series.  I’ve always heard mentions of the series but scoffed at reading it.  When I did at the suggestion of a co-worker, I was hooked.  The end of the series was over the top but, overall, still an enjoyable read.

• Newly discovered series I will stalk, er, definitely check out:

  1. Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews
  2. The Edge by Ilona Andrews
  3. Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong
  4. Darkest Power by Kelley Armstrong
  5. Elemental Assassin by Jennifer Estep
  6. London’s Greatest Lovers by Lorraine Heath
  7. Lucky Harbor by Jill Shalvis

Newly discovered series I may check out: Dragon Kin by G.A. Aiken, KGI by Maya Banks, Bishop SCU by Kay Hooper, Magnus Pack by Shelly Laurenston, Rough Riders by Lorelei James, Southern Arcana by Moira Rogers, Kowalski by Shannon Stacey, and World of the Lupi by Eileen Wilks.

• Old series I will continue to follow:

  1. Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs
  2. Breed by Lora Leigh
  3. In Death by J.D. Robb
  4. Psy-Changeling  by Nalini Singh
  5. Guild Hunter by Nalini Singh

• Books in a series that I’ve enjoyed and recommend:

  1. Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews
  2. The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong
  3. Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep
  4. Passions of a Wicked Earl by Lorraine Heath
  5. Love in the Afternoon by Lisa Kleypas
  6. Exclusively Yours by Shannon Stacey
  7. Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh
  8. Warprize by Elizabeth Vaughan
  9. My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent

Single title books that I’ve enjoyed and recommend:

  1. Here Comes the Groom by Karina Bliss
  2. Open Season by Linda Howard (re-read)
  3. Magnate’s Make-Believe Mistress by Bronwyn Jameson
  4. Homecoming by Elizabeth Jennings
  5. Butterfly Tattoo by Deidre Knight
  6. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
  7. The Search by Nora Roberts
  8. Silent Scream by Karen Rose
  9. You Can’t Hide by Karen Rose (re-read)
  10. Beautiful Girl by Shiloh Walker (re-read)
  11. Unguarded by Tracy Wolff

And that is a wrap up for Tabitha’s 2010 reads.  This was a long post.  I hope 2011 will be just as wonderful or better!

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Annual Reads