Marriage, Changes + Belated Monthly Reads

Posted on October 26, 2010

6


It has been awhile. How is everyone doing?

I’ve been playing catch up.  Since the wedding I’ve spent the time cleaning house and updating various companies with the maiden name change.  It hasn’t been fun talking to people and writing letters.  But hopefully I’ve caught up with everyone.  I had to rush the name change because I quit the job you’ve all heard me complaining about and get updated paperwork for new job.  New job is closer to home so no more train rides which means even less time to read.  But, that’s how life is — you win some, you lose some.

Now onto the much neglected blog…in case you’re interested, I read 10 books in August, 4 of which were re-reads.  In September, I read 11 books, 1 was a re-read and 1 was a very short, short story.  See below for book titles and grading.

+Monthly Read: August 2010

1) Sweet Release by Pamela Clare, C-

2) Open Season by Linda Howard, B+

3) Shadows at Midnight by Elizabeth Jennings, B

4) It Happened One Autumn by Lisa Kleypas, B

5) Sweet Success by Susan Mallery, C-

6) The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn, B-

7) To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn, B+

8) Warlord by Elizabeth Vaughan, B

9) Warsworn by Elizabeth Vaughan, B-

10) Bedding the Enemy by Mary Wine, C

The Howard, Kleypas, and Quinn were all re-reads.  I had a difficult time starting and finishing a book so I turned towards old favorites to keep me company.

For August, total number of books:

• purchased = 6,

• read from new purchases = 2,

• read from previous TBR pile = 8,

• addition to TBR pile = 4.

+Monthly Read: September 2010

1) Burning Up by Susan Andersen, C

2) Love Me, Still by Maya Banks, C

3) The Darkest Hour by Maya Banks, B+

Review here.

4) Last to Die by Kate Brady, C-

5) Venom by Jennifer Estep, B+

6) All Jacked Up by Lorelei James, B-

7) Here Kitty, Kitty by Shelly Laurenston, C

8) Go Fetch by Shelly Laurenston, B-

9) Pack Challenge by Shelly Laurenston, B

10) Crux by Moira Rogers, C

11) You Can’t Hide by Karen Rose, B+

For September, total number of books:

• purchased = 11,

• read from new purchases = 9,

• read from previous TBR pile = 2,

• addition to TBR pile = 2.

Love Me, Still by Maya Banks was a very short story.  There are no sex scenes nor character development or plot background.  The story is basically centered around a betrayal and forgiveness, all of which were nicely and easily wrapped up due to its length.  It was a quick read to pass the time.

You Can’t Hide was a re-read and I’m loving Karen Rose’s writing even more with each reading.

For Shelly Laurenston, she is a new-to-me author. I have been on a reading slump and needed something to perk my interest.  I discovered Laurenston while skimming a new blog (unfortunately, I can’t remember which blog).  I downloaded a sample chapter from the first book Pack Challenge and I was hooked.  The three books listed are part of the Magnus Pack erotic paranormal romance series and the heroines are best friends.  The banter between hero and heroine and the camaraderie between the girls are hilarious.  There were many laugh out loud moments.  However, I have to point out that there are a lot of profanity, men and women alike, and the heroines are quite vulgar.  There were times I was annoyed with the ladies’ loudness and attitudes with each other.  But the writing is quite entertaining so if you don’t mind lots of profanity and crude behaviors I would recommend.

Do you have new-to-you author recommendations?  What books are you reading? I need reading ideas!

