Monthly Read: March 2010

Posted on April 11, 2010

11


Thought your eyes were deceiving you, huh? Wondering if Tabitha is sick? Why is she reviewing her monthly reads at the beginning of the month when she normally does it end of? I’m not sick, lol. Just not up to reviewing any of the books read during the month so I figured there’s no point in prolonging this post.

There were plenty of great reads in March. Total count for the month = 16 which is a likeable number for me. Now I’m wondering if I am sick?? The desire to read is still going stronger than the desire to review. By the time I feel up to summarizing my reading, etc, my thoughts have dissipated from what I read. I have notes jotted during my readings but still couldn’t write out a review. Very disappointing. Is there a cure for this?!

1)      Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews, B-

2)      Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews, B

3)      Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews, B+

4)      On the Edge by Ilona Andrews, B

5)      Holding Out for a Hero by Helen Kay Dimon, B-

6)      Leave Me Breathless by Helen Kay Dimon, C

7)      Serena’s Web by Kay Hooper, C

8)      Something About You by Julie James, B+

9)      Cowgirl Up and Ride by Lorelei James, B

10)   Notorious by Iris Johansen, D

11)   Moon Awakening by Lucy Monroe, C-

12)   No Chance by Christy Reece, C

13)   Midnight Man by Lisa Marie Rice, B

14)   Dirty Secrets by Karen Rose (in the anthology Hot Pursuit), B+

15)   Broken by Shiloh Walker, B+

16)   Truth and Consequences by Linda Winfree, B

Favorite readings for the month are the Ilona Andrew’s books, most especially Kate Daniels series. If you notice from the grading, I enjoyed the series better with each book. I am mystified by Kate’s heritage, her brewing relationship with Curran, and what the Magic world has in store for her. As ecstatic as I am to discover this series, I wish I had discovered it closer to the release of Magic Bleeds (05/25/2010). I just can’t get enough of the authors’ writing! Thankfully, I was able to get a copy of On the Edge, another Andrews’ series which I also enjoyed.

Worse reading for the month is Notorious by Iris Johansen. The heroine was trialed and found not guilty of her husband’s death but the hero who is her brother-in-law still blames her for his brother’s death. As part of his revenge plan, hero orchestrates a kidnapping in the guise of a movie role and force heroine to have sex with him which she does without a fight. The plot is boring and the characters are dull.

For March, total number of books:

• purchased = 25,

• read from new purchases = 9,

• read from previous TBR pile = 7.

A good reading month as far as count goes but the growing TBR pile still need great work! Ah, maybe next month! Lol!

