No More Reading?

Posted on March 17, 2010

6


Do you think you’ll ever stop reading romance novels? If so, would you continue to keep your collection of books for keepsakes or would you get rid of them?

This question has been plaguing me for the past week. I recently introduced a friend to reading Love at First Flight by Marie Force and she loved it, so much that she went out and purchased her own copy of the book. Then she asked me for some title and author recommendations and was astonished at the number of authors I can recall off the top of my head. It was then that I realized and told her that I’ve been reading for more than a decade. Wow, a decade is a long time for me!

Thinking back, my love of reading started in middle school following the lives of the Sweet Valley Twins. When I ran out of the Sweet Valley High books to glom, I snuck a book from my older sister’s hidden book stash and it turned out to be a Zebra Historical Romance. This was sophomore year of high school. I was at first wide-eyed at the new reading material but curiosity won over my innocence. Romance novels were forbidden reading material in my family so I started to sneak the books from the Free Public Library to read away from home.  I did a good job at hiding my newfound interest because my parents didn’t catch on to my reading until mid-way through college.

A big IF that if I ever stop reading romance books, I would still keep my books. I spent a lot of time and money researching various authors and their backlists. I wouldn’t be able to bring myself to get rid of my collection. I may rid of certain books that I would never re-read but my favorites will always be kept within reach in case the interest returns or to pass onto the next generation. So for me, I can’t imagine not reading!

