Upcoming Book: Fantasy in Death by J.D. Robb & In Death Quotes

Posted on February 10, 2010

8


Fantasy in Death by J.D. Robb, book #37 in the In Death series

Release Date: February 23, 2010

Bart Minnock, founder of the computer-gaming giant U-Play, enters his private playroom, and eagerly can’t wait to lose himself in an imaginary world, to play the role of a sword-wielding warrior king, in his company’s latest top-secret project, Fantastical.

The next morning, he is found in the same locked room, in a pool of blood, his head separated from his body. It is the most puzzling case Eve Dallas has ever faced, and it is not a game. . . .

NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas is having as much trouble figuring out how Bart Minnock was murdered as who did the murdering. The victim’s girlfriend seems sincerely grief-stricken, and his quirky-but-brilliant partners at U-Play appear equally shocked. No one seemed to have a prob lem with the enthusiastic, high-spirited millionaire. Of course, success can attract jealousy, and gaming, like any business, has its fierce rivalries and dirty tricks-as Eve’s husband, Roarke, one of U- Play’s !, knows well. But Minnock was not naive, and quite capable of fighting back in the real world as well as the virtual one.

Eve and her team are about to enter the next level of police work, in a world where fantasy is the ultimate seduction-and the price of defeat is death. . . .

We’re less than two weeks away until the next full length In Death novel by J.D. Robb, Fantasy in Death, is scheduled to be release. I believe this makes it the 37th book in the series. A teaser excerpt of FID is posted on Nora Robert’s site here.

In anticipation of FID, I’ve decided to do another post of quotes from the In Death books – from the first three books in the series.

I purchased the first three books as a box set from B&N. It’s a very pretty box set that I have on my nightstand, available anytime for me to grab for reading when I have the urge to revisit Eve & Roarke. Too bad I can’t display the remaining books as well but the series is already past three dozen books and it’s still extending. [however, not complaining]

It’s always  a pleasure for me to go back and read the book that started it all for Eve & Roarke. Naked in Death is not my favorite book in the series but I’ve re-read it countless times. I just love the moment when Roarke sees Eve and the jolt he gets when their eyes meet. Sweet…!

Anyhow, I hope you enjoy the quotes as much as I did!

In Death Quotes:

Eve: “Roarke who?”

Feeney: “Just Roarke, as far as I know.  Big money there.  Kind of guy that touches shit and turns it into gold bricks.  You’ve got to start reading more than the sports page, Dallas.”

Eve: “Hey, I read the headlines.  Did you hear about the cocker spaniel recall?”

Naked in Death

Roarke: “I want you to marry me.”

Eve: “Uh-huh. Well, we’ll –”   She stopped, nearly stumbled, then gaped at him with her good eye. “You want what?”

Roarke: “I want you to marry me.”

He had a bruise on his jaw, blood on his coat, and a gleam in his eye.  She wondered if he’d lost his mind.

Eve: “We’re standing here, beat to shit, walking away from a crime scene where either or both of us could have bought it, and you’re asking me to marry you?”

He tucked his arm around her waist again, nudged her forward.

Roarke: “Perfect timing.”

Glory in Death

“We gotta have a toast.”  Rocky on her pins, Peabody used the table for balance.  She managed to raise her glass without spilling more than half its contents on Eve’s head.

“To the best fucking cop in the whole stinking city, who’s gonna marry the sexiest sumbitch I, personally, have ever laid eyes on, and who, because she’s so goddamn smart, has seen to it that I’m perman’ly attached to Homicide. Which is where any half-blind asshole could tell you I belong. So there.”

She downed the rest of her drink, fell backward into her chair, and grinned foolishly.

“Peabody,” Eve said and flicked a finger her eyes. “I’ve never been more touched.”

Immortal in Death

Link to In Death Quote I: Buddy Review: Kindred in Death by J.D. Robb

Posted in: Upcoming Books