Monday Blues Plus Some

Posted on January 25, 2010

8


I mentioned in several posts ago that I took steps to change my work situation and it saddens me to say that my current management has blocked my move to the new group for another 6 months. Since the news went out that I made a request for internal department transfer, I have been getting the silent treatment and work assignment reduction from upper management. I had been warned by previous staff members of the group to expect that type of behaviors so while I’m not surprised, it still irks me that the people are not more professional. It is immature and unwarranted to see people who have work in the group 5-10+ years turn a corporate group of professional women into high school girls. Even then my high school experience was nothing near this level of craziness.

..

On a happier note — I’m so glad to see that my book buying urges have not waned along with my reading interest. This weekend, I picked up four additional books – two of which were anticipated (yay, for early release!):

The Next Best Thing by Kristan Higgins (Release Date: February 1, 2010)

and

Slow Heat by Jill Shalvis (Release Date: February 2, 2010)

Since I enjoyed Hunter’s Need by Shiloh Walker, I decided to pick up Hunter’s Salvation. The fourth book I picked up was Sexy as Hell by Susan Johnson because the cover caught my eye. I know I said I was going to cut down on book buying whims and those titles and authors I haven’t researched but I needed a 4th book in order to use my coupon discount. The back blurb didn’t sound too bad so I thought I give this new-to-me author a try. Hopefully, this wasn’t a wasteful impulse! Has anyone read these two books or read Susan Johnson before?

..

I first heard of this meme on Leslie’s Psyche who got it from Christine at The Happily Ever After. The meme is a reflection of readings in 2009. I think it is a cute meme so I’ve decided to complete one too. It was my first meme and it was fun – a really cute play on book titles! Thanks, Christine and Leslie, for sharing the meme!

My Life According to the Books I Read in 2009

Directions: Using only titles of books you have read this year (2009), complete the prompts below. Try not to repeat a book title.

Describe yourself:

Coming Undone by Susan Andersen

How do you feel:

Under Fire by Jo Davis

Describe where you currently live:

The Villa by Nora Roberts

If you could go anywhere, where would you go:

Port of Paradise by Lisa Marie Rice

Your favorite form of transportation:

Through the Veil by Shiloh Walker

Your best friend is:

Getting Lucky by Susan Andersen

You and your friends are:

From Friends to Forever by Karen Templeton

What’s the weather like:

Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh

Favorite time of day:

Hotter After Midnight by Cynthia Eden

What is life to you:

Test of Time by Jayne Ann Krentz

Your fear:

In Bed with A Stranger by Mary Wine

What is the best advice you have to give:

The Best Is Yet to Come by Diana Palmer

Thought for the day:

Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

How I would like to die:

Bed of Roses by Nora Roberts

My soul’s present condition:

One Scream Away by Kate Brady

ETA: Grammar

