What grabs my interest

Posted on November 23, 2009

8


I haven’t been able to locate bookshelves that I like so I have my books stored in large boxes in the basement which are now overflowing. As a result, I have to be a bit more discriminating with books I purchase [I do try!] or they will be all over the house. But prior to this, besides the book summary I would only need to check out an excerpt (if one is available) before I decide to add a book to my TBB list [I know, I’m so easy!].

Below are a few excerpts of books that grabbed my attention and made the “I need to buy this now!” decision for me:

[My first foray into paranormal romance]

He hiked his broad shoulders. “My kind prefers tarts with a little more meat on their bones so they can take a demon’s lusts.”

“Tarts?” Her jaw slackened. “My God, you’re the most misogynistic man I’ve ever met. I bet you also like your tarts barefoot and pregnant.”

“Nah, I like them barefoot, on birth control, and always available in my bed.”

[My first introduction to her books]

The Heroine: “How do you know enough about what I do to even argue liability?”

The Hero: “Oh please.” He sounded highly insulted. “I’ve been alive for thousands of years and watching humans for most of it. I read a few of your other cases. It was easy to pattern them appropriately. Human law is simple. You blame anything but yourselves. I merely accused everyone and everything mentioned in the file but for the person you were representing, and backed it up with whatever evidence I could twist to support my allegations.”

[My introduction to her historical romances]

“Do not concern yourself, Oaksley… Whatever the reason, I find I am not in the least put off by what some men might consider fast behavior in a female.”

“How dare you imply my sister is fast?” Anthony snarled.

“Well, she certainly is not slow.”

 

“I am not certain what you hoped to accomplish, madam, but one thing is clear. No one who views these sheets will believe for one moment that I made love to a virgin last night.”

“And just what will they think, sir?”

“That I sacrificed one.”

[My first introduction to her books]

“He doesn’t like my gown, Mama,” she wailed, her lower lip trembling. “And Miss Brookhollow said it was the very thing!”

Lucien meant to behave himself, at least for today. So much for his good intentions. “Who is Miss Brookhollow?”

“Rose’s governess. She came highly recommended.”

“By whom – circus performers”?

LolCan you guess their book titles?

What is the deciding factor for you to pick up a book by a debut or new-to-you author?

ETA: The titles of the books are revealed! I uploaded the book covers next to each excerpt. Truthfully though, I only read three of the books I bought. Lol. I didn’t get to the Amanda Quick books because I got sidetracked by other books I purchased later, ha. But all three books that I’ve read, I enjoyed.

Posted in: Tabitzy Rambling