Goodies get out of jail and more TBR pile up

Posted on November 2, 2009

13


Why does Saturday and Sunday just pass go while Monday through Friday always linger?

Bright and early Saturday morning, I finally got to free my books from their holding cell. Behold:

Collage7Deep Kiss of Winter by Kresley Cole and Gena Showalter (containing Untouchable, Immortals After Dark #8, and Tempt Me Eternally, part of Alien Huntress series)

Paradise Rules by Beth Kery

Tie Me Down by Tracy Wolff

This weekend was a very productive one. I did a very quick stop (only 15minutes!) at  a UBS and picked up the following books:

Collage8Sweet Seduction by Maya Banks (Sweet #3)

The Price of Pleasure by Kresley Cole (The Sutherland Brothers #2)

Sins of a Duke by Suzanne Enoch (The Griffin Family #5 #4)

Jewel of Atlantis by Gena Showalter (Atlantis #2)

At the UBS, I saw a girl about my age stacking books in her arms. A quick peek at her stash and I saw she has books only by Julia Quinn, most of which were the Bridgerton novels. Impulsively, I said to her:

Me: Julia Quinn is a good author. I love her books, and the Bridgerton series is pretty good.

JQ fan girl: [looks up at me like I’m crazy but responded anyway] I love her Bridgerton novels too. I started on one book in the middle of the series and realize I need to get her other books. I hate starting a book mid-series because then I feel the need to go back and read the other books that I’m missing.

Me: Yep. I was lucky and got started on The Duke and I first then went out and glommed the rest of the series. It’s fun though glomming an author’s backlist.

JQ fan girl: It’s fun but I’m running out of spaces to put my books. I have them all over my room. I had to start a list to track what I have, in excel. I’m such a dork.

Me: I have mine in boxes. And I have a list too. I had to start one because I was buying duplicate books. Some books have too similar titles.

JQ fan girl: Yeah. I even track my books by series to know which books go with what series. Who does that, right? [chuckles]

Me: [thinking of the bloggers in the reading community] Oh, you’d be surprised.

JQ fan girl: Really? Good to know I’m not the only person who is fanatic about reading. I’m also picky about my books. I like to keep them clean. My friends think I’m weird.

Me: You’re not, I like my books clean too. I don’t bend the covers, and I’m careful not to spill any food or drinks on them. I get so annoyed when I loan out a book to my sister and it comes back with the pages bent or the cover smeared.

JQ fan girl: Yeah, I bought some books more than once to replace copies that I loaned out and didn’t get back or they were old through re-reading so much.

[JQ fan girl’s cell phone rang and she has a quick conversation with her friend.]

JQ fan girl: That was my friend calling me to go eat. I told her I have no money to eat out. But yet here I am buying $60 worth of books. [laughs]

Me: [laughs too] I’d have done the same. Books over food and clothes anytime!

On that note, JQ fan girl and I smile at each other and go our way. Ha, this is the second time I’ve approached another reader impulsively. The last time I did it, the reader and I ended up exchanging opinions on our favorite authors and their books. Lol!

Bled Dry by Erin McCarthyAnother stop at Book Warehouse, an outlet store of discounted books, and I picked up Bled Dry by Erin McCarthy (Vegas Vampires #3). I’ve only read Erin McCarthy’s contemps but this book in trade size was only $3.99. How could I resist?

Blaze of Memory by Nalini SinghThe last purchase of the weekend is…Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh! BOM is book #8 #7 in the Psy-Changeling series. I was so excited to see this book in the store early that I almost did jumping jacks. Haha, what a sight that would’ve been! There’s only one other book I want, Kindred in Death by J.D. Robb, which is also due to release November 3rd…and I know Amazon will be late to deliver it again. *give Amazon the evil eye which my friends say is really scary*

I’m greedy, aren’t I? I just keeping buying all these books even knowing that I have other books that I haven’t gotten to and probably won’t get to for weeks, months, and *gulp* maybe even years to come. But it’s the satisfaction of knowing I have books to choose from that makes me happy. *Sigh*

Here’s to hoping the week will go by quick!

Posted in: Goodies, Got Mail