Big Big World

Posted on September 26, 2009

11


Emilia — Big Big World


Crying BallerinaDriving home from work one of the days last week, Emilia’s Big Big World played on my stereo. Immediately, an image popped in my head and it was a scene from Born in Ice by Nora Roberts. The scene I saw was of Brianna Concannon crouched beside the edge of her bed, head down, crying her heart out after her lover, Grayson Thane, walked out. Gray had finished the book he was working on and had no reason to stay on. Brianna, so stoic only moments before, had wished Gray well on his way after reassuring him that she would be able to take care of herself and he should not worry about her.

It’s not a big big thing if you leave me

But I do do feel that

I do do will miss you much

It wasn’t until she started to clean out the room that Gray stayed in that Brianna’s façade cracked —  the smell and memories of Gray still lingering in the room shattered the control she had in check and all of her unspoken feelings spilled over. So realistic was her heart-wrenching crying in my mind.

Born in Ice by Nora RobertsI haven’t read Born in Ice in a long while so I’m not sure why the vision appeared in my head just then. I can’t even say if I recollect the storyline correctly – I think this scene occurred not too long after Brianna and Gray said their goodbyes to each other, about at the end of the book.

Why did it have to happen

Why did it all have to end

I only recall an impression of Brianna – calm, seemingly fragile young woman. Though underneath the calm exterior, Brianna had a will of iron and was loyal to a fault as seen by how she stood by her mother despite the verbal treatment she was subjected to daily. I would say that Brianna is one of those people who are generally quiet and collected but when push comes to shove, she does quite well on her own.

I may be projecting too much away from what happened in the actual book but the scene in my head just wouldn’t wash away as the lyrics repeated. Visualizing a scene from a book while reading is not unusual for me but conjuring one while listening to music is.

I think it’s time for a re-read of the book and series instead of just reminiscing.

Posted in: Personal Note