August Monthly Reads

Posted on September 5, 2009

6


August was a poor reading month for me. I haven’t read this little number of books since I moved into my own place three years ago. Alas, work and personal life can’t be helped.

1) The Tycoon’s Pregnant Mistress by Maya Banks, B+

2) The Tycoon’s Rebel Bride by Maya Banks, B-

3) The Tycoon’s Secret Affair by Maya Banks, B-

4) Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant, B-

5) Start Me Up by Victoria Dahl B+

6) Slow Hands by Leslie Kelly, C+

7) Bengal’s Heart by Lora Leigh, B+

8) Nightcap by Kathleen O’Reilly, B- / C+

9) Pitch Black by Leslie Parrish, B+

10) Dangerous Passion by Lisa Marie Rice, B

11) I Can See You by Karen Rose, A-

12) Instant Gratification by Jill Shalvis, B-

Of all the books I read during the month, I Can See You by Karen Rose was the most memorable.  There’s something about KR’s writing that is just awesome and so addicting. I am still so thankful that I took a chance on Scream For Me when Jane @Dear Author did a review of the book. After finishing SFM, I bought out her backlist and she has since been one of my top auto-buy authors.

Start Me Up by Victoria Dahl was a surprising good read. I wasn’t able to finish Talk Me Down, the first book in her contemporary series so I was a bit reluctant to begin Start Me Up. I am glad I did because the book hooked me in quickly. Now I think I’m going to try Talk Me Down again. I’ve had quite a few DNF readings in the past few months which is unusual so I’m thinking that it’s the cr*ppy unhappy mood that I’ve been in lately.

All three books in the Anetakis Tycoons series (in order of reading — The Tycoon’s Pregnant Mistress, The Tycoon’s Rebel Bride, and The Tycoon’s Secret Affair) by Maya Banks were good. If I had to pick my fave of the trilogy, The Tycoon’s Pregnant Mistress would be it because I teared near the end there, lol.

The other category romance I read was Slow Hands by Leslie Kelly. I don’t recall that the book was a bad read but it didn’t really stand out for me. In fact, I had to look up a sypnosis of the book on Amazon to refresh my memory of what I read. I think it was the fact that I’m not a big fan of mistaken identity storylines — although I have to hand it to Leslie Kelly that she enlightened the hero as to the heroine’s misconception about his career early on in the storyline (I dislike obvious misconceptions being dragged on).

Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant and Pitch Black by Leslie Parrish (aka Leslie Kelly) are romantic suspense reads.  I really enjoyed Fade to Black, the 1st book in Ms. Parrish’s A Black CATs series, so I was looking forward to Pitch Black and it didn’t disappoint. Waking Nightmare, book #1 of The Mindhunters series, is a good start to the series. I really like that Berkley and Signet release the books back to back monthly to hook the readers in. I am definitely hooked, added the fact that I’m a big fan of romantic suspense too.

Lora Leigh’s the Breed series is one I have been following and Bengal’s Heart was book #19 in the series. I had been waiting for the story on Tanner’s brother, Cabal St. Laurants, since his appearance in Tanner’s Scheme (Book #9) but Bengal’s Heart didn’t quite live up to my expectation. The biggest gripe I have with the book is that Cabal was aware that the heroine, Cassa Hawkins, is his mate yet he still bedded countless other women — for years. And Cassa didn’t really hold my interest. I found the storyline much more engaging than the H/H.

The Wilder Brothers is another series I have been following. Instant Gratification by Jill Shalvis is book #2 in the series. It took me several days to finish the book which is long in my reading time. The hero, Stone Wilder, didn’t grab my attention like his brother, Cameron, did in Instant Attraction. But I’m still looking forward to Instant Temptation because T.J. interest me and I want to know what history is there between him and his heroine, Harley.

Lisa Marie Rice is a new-to-me author. Dangerous Passion is a pretty good introduction to the author. I have to say though that the storyline is not as erotic as the reviews have said. But that is not to say the sex isn’t hot, ha. Although I do wonder about the heroine, how she could be so accepting of a man she’s met for the first time and there he was killing not just one man but several men in front of her. I have to attribute it to LMR’s writing that she was able to keep my attention to the end of the book considering how far-fetched some of the scenes were.

Nightcap by Kathleen O’Reilly was book #3 in the Sexy O’Sullivans series, and has only been the second book I’ve checked out by the author. I’ll be looking out for more of her books as her writing is pretty good.

And whew, I think I should be glad I only read 12 books in August as that was a lot of recollecting and writing. There has to be an easier way to summarize my monthly readings, lol.

