Snippet #4

Posted on December 6, 2011

3


Snapped by Laura Griffin

“I’ve got plenty of opinions. You don’t want to hear them.”

“Like what?”

“Like you’re signed up for two classes, right? Starting Monday?”

“Yeah.”

“And you just got a new car, but the insurance check didn’t cover all of it.”

“Yeah. So?”

“So, you’re wasting your hard-earned money,” he said. “I think it’s stupid.”

“You think I’m stupid?”

He sighed. “I think this plan is stupid. What do you need a gated community for when you’ve got me?”

She rolled her eyes. “Don’t be ridiculous.”

“What’s ridiculous?”

“I can’t depend on a man to keep me safe and secure.”

“Why not?”

She opened her mouth.

“Why can’t you depend on me? I can do those things, Sophie. I’m good at that stuff.”

She floundered for words. “Jonah … this isn’t the Middle Ages. I don’t need some knight to ride up and rescue me—”

“I’m talking about real life. I’m talking about you being with me. Staying at my house. In my bed. I’m talking about hanging out together, going to movies, washing your car. I’m talking about you waking me up to distract you when you can’t sleep at night.”

Posted in: Snippet